Traditional Music and Song at Tonbridge Folk Club (Nellies)

When We Meet

First and third Mondays of each month from 7-30 – 10-30 pm. Musicians, singers and audience welcome.

Where We Meet

Ye Olde Chequers Inn, 122 High St., Tonbridge, TN9 1AS

Evening Fee

A hat collection is held on guest nights and a minimum contribution of £8 (£6 concessions) is suggested.

Singers Welcome

Floor spots available – arranged on the night.

Mon 15 Apr 2024 – Steve Pledger

An acclaimed writer of contemporary folk song who accompanies himself by guitar, he has made a name for himself with his starkly honest and well-crafted songs. Steve Pledger 

Mon 20 May 2024 – Will Allen

An expert button accordionist, melodeon player and fiddler, he has an enormous repertoire of dance tunes from England, Ireland, Scotland and many other western countries. He also composes his own music and teaches people of all abilities to play and understand traditional music and dance. Will Allen

Mon 3 Jun 2024 – Allan Richardson

Welcome return of a local singer-songwriter with a well-crafted and eclectic selection of songs: reflective, witty and humorous, skilfully accompanied by guitar. Allan Richardson

Mon 17 Jun 2024 – Dove’s Vagaries

A wide range of song and music, from 12th C to Victorian music hall, both acapella and accompanied by various instruments including melodeon, concertina, dulcimer, smallpipes, cornamuses, hulusi, whistles and flutes. Something different, and not to be missed. Dove’s Vagaries

Mon 1 July 2024 – Siren

A fiddle and guitar duo playing gritty arrangements of trad jigs and reels as well as Celtic twists on familiar songs. Long time serving professional musicians Gemma Gayner (fiddle and vocals) and Andy Bolton (guitar and vocals) are well known within the Medway music scene and across Kent. 

Mon 15 Jul 2024 – Matthew English & Liam Sherry

Matthew English is a skilful fiddle player who we have recently had at the club with Kevin Henty. He now teams up with skilled guitarist Liam Sherry to provide an entertaining selection of songs and tunes. 

Mon 5 Aug  2024 – Carrie Martin

An East Yorkshire based singer-songwriter possessed of the ability to craft a fine song, nimble finger-picking skill, and a beguiling voice. Described by Rik Wakeman as “phenomenal”. Carrie Martin

Mon 19 Aug  2024 – Sir-Reel Clarks

Son and grandson of the late Ted Clark who was a noted local melodeon player. Aeron the grandson has inherited his grandfather’s talent with that instrument, and is skilfully accompanied by his father Andy on the guitar in unusual arrangements of well known tunes, plus original compositions. Sir-Reel Clarks

Forthcoming attractions:  Mon 2 Sep 2024 – Enda McCabe | Mon 16 Sep 2024 – Lynne Heraud & Pat Turner |  Mon 7 Oct 2024 – Nick Vulture | Mon 21 Oct 2024 – Alchemy Acoustic | Mon 4 Nov 2024 – Hunter Muskett |Mon 18 Nov 2024 – Lewis Barfoot | Mon 20 Jan 2025 – Dave Ellis & Boo Howard | Mon 3 Mar 2025 – John & Lynne Ward | Mon 16 Jun 2025 – Iona Lane

To join our mail list click here

News and Blog

Hickory Signals

Here's a taster of next Monday's guests, Hickory Signals. Check out Youtube for more of their videos and join us at the Flying Dutchman on Monday!