Traditional Music and Song at Tonbridge Folk Club (Nellies)

When We Meet

First and third Mondays of each month from 8-11 pm. Musicians, singers and audience welcome.

Where We Meet

The Flying Dutchman, 118 Tonbridge Road, Hildenborough, Tonbridge, TN11 9EN.

Evening Fee

A hat collection is held on guest nights and a contribution of £7 (£5 concessions) is suggested.

Singers Welcome

Floor spots available – arranged on the night.
Diary of Events

Mon 17 Feb 2020 – Zetor in the Kailyard

Angus based folk duo features Roddy Johnston on fiddle, pipes, vocals, guitar, cahon and loop pedal, and Kate Badcock on flute, sax, and backing vocals. Lively interpretations of traditional folk music from the British Isles. Zetor in the Kailyard

Mon 2 Mar 2020 – Karen Langridge

A local singer from Kent with a beautiful voice, who sings traditional and contemporary songs, both acapella and accompanied.

 

Mon 16 Mar 2020 – Steve Turner

Well known on the folk scene as a fine singer of traditional songs, Steve is particularly noted for his skilled accompaniments with English concertina. Steve Turner

 

Mon 6 Apr 2020 – Christopher Mark Jones

Described as a bonafide storyteller in the mould of the classic folk troubadour, he combines captivating lyrics with skilled guitar accompaniment. Americana at its best. Christopher Mark Jones

Mon 20 Apr 2020 – Richard Grainger

Hailing from Tees-side, Richard is an accomplished performer, with guitar, of both his own and traditional songs. Expect material with a maritime theme and reflecting the former industries of the north-east. Richard Grainger

 

 

Mon 18 May 2020 – David Fisher

A strong voice accompanied by fine guitar playing does justice to his songs, both traditional and self-penned, inviting audience participation. David Fisher

Forthcoming attractions: Mon 1 Jun 2020 –Vic & Tina Smith | Mon 6 Jul 2020 – Skinner & T’Witch | Mon 20 Jul 2020 – Martin Ledner | Mon 7 Sept 2020 – Jeff Warner | Mon 21 Sep 2020 – Miriam Erasmus | Mon 5 Oct 2020 – Dick Miles | Mon 19 October – Celtic Caim Duo | Mon 2 Nov 2020 – Naomi Bedford & Paul Simmonds | Mon 16 Nov 2020 – Alden, Patterson & Dashwood

To join our mail list click here

News and Blog

Folk gig at Redhill

Happy New Year, everybody! We've had word of a gig at the Harlequin Theatre, Redhill on 23rd January by Band of Burns. This is an incredible collaboration between 12 highly respected folk musicians who have come together to celebrate the life and works of Robert...