Traditional Music and Song at Tonbridge Folk Club (Nellies)

When We Meet

First and third Mondays of each month from 7-30 – 10-30 pm. Musicians, singers and audience welcome.

Where We Meet

Ye Olde Chequers Inn, 122 High St., Tonbridge, TN9 1AS

Evening Fee

A hat collection is held on guest nights and a minimum contribution of £8 (£6 concessions) is suggested.

Singers Welcome

Floor spots available – arranged on the night.

Mon 15 Jul 2024 – Matthew English & Liam Sherry

Matthew English is a skilful fiddle player who we have recently had at the club with Kevin Henty. He now teams up with skilled guitarist Liam Sherry to provide an entertaining selection of songs and tunes. 

Mon 5 Aug  2024 – Carrie Martin

An East Yorkshire based singer-songwriter possessed of the ability to craft a fine song, nimble finger-picking skill, and a beguiling voice. Described by Rik Wakeman as “phenomenal”. Carrie Martin

Mon 19 Aug  2024 – Sir-Reel Clarks

Son and grandson of the late Ted Clark who was a noted local melodeon player. Aeron the grandson has inherited his grandfather’s talent with that instrument, and is skilfully accompanied by his father Andy on the guitar in unusual arrangements of well known tunes, plus original compositions. Sir-Reel Clarks 

Mon 2 Sep  2024 – Enda McCabe

Singer, songwriter and storyteller originally from Dublin, Enda brings a taste of Ireland with traditional song and his own compositions. Enda McCabe

Mon 16 Sep  2024 –Lynn Heraud & Pat Turner

Welcome return for these two beautiful harmony singers, both acapella and accompanied by guitar or concertina. A mixture of fine traditional song, and self-penned originals, some of them extremely funny and self-mocking. Lynne Heraud & Pat Turner

Mon 7 Oct  2024 – Nick Vulture

A singer-songwriter from Australia accompanied by guitar. He demonstrates his ability to combine appealing melodies with meaningful lyrics, drawing listeners in with his expressive vocals and moving tales. Nick Vulture

 

Mon 21 Oct  2024 – Alchemy Acoustic

Local duo who perform mostly contemporary English folk song, accompanied by guitars. Alchemy Acoustic

 

 

Forthcoming attractions:  Mon 4 Nov 2024 – Hunter Muskett |Mon 18 Nov 2024 – Lewis Barfoot | Mon 2 Dec 2024 – The Browns | Mon 16 Dec 2024 – Natasha Norodien & Terry Lees | Mon 20 Jan 2025 – Dave Ellis & Boo Howard | Mon 17 Feb 2025 – The Claras | Mon 3 Mar 2025 – John & Lynne Ward | Mon 17 Mar 2025 – Broomdasher | Mon 16 Jun 2025 – Iona Lane | Mon 1 Sep 2025 – Paul Walker & Karen Pfeiffer

To join our mail list click here

News and Blog

Hickory Signals

Here's a taster of next Monday's guests, Hickory Signals. Check out Youtube for more of their videos and join us at the Flying Dutchman on Monday!