Traditional Music and Song at Tonbridge Folk Club (Nellies)

When We Meet

First and third Mondays of each month from 8-11 pm. Musicians, singers and audience welcome.

Where We Meet

Ye Olde Chequers Inn, 122 High St., Tonbridge, TN9 1AS

Evening Fee

A hat collection is held on guest nights and a contribution of £7 (£5 concessions) is suggested.

Singers Welcome

Floor spots available – arranged on the night.

Mon 21 Nov 2022 – Vic & Tina Smith

Well known in the Sussex folk scene, they will be presenting their multi-media show that celebrates our feathered friends in song, tune, verse and lore, along with many illustrations, which has been very well received at other clubs and festivals. Vic & Tina Smith

Mon 5 Dec 2022 – Sally Ironmonger with Brian Carter

Welcome return of a Kent singer with many entertaining and thought provoking songs, skilfully accompanied by Brian with guitar. Sally Ironmonger

 

 

 

Mon 19 Dec 2022 – Simon Kempston

One of Scotland’s very best singer-songwriters, a composer and leading acoustic fingerstyle guitarist based in Edinburgh. His beautifully crafted material showcases his distinctive, intricate fingerstyle guitar work, and his gently nuanced, compelling tenor vocals. Simon Kempston 

Mon 16 Jan 2023 – Four Gone Confusion

Our residents John & Di Cullen are joined by Pete & Brenda Storer to make this foursome. In addition to fine musicianship, you can expect superb four-part harmonies in interpretations of an eclectic range of songs. Four Gone Confusion

Mon 6 Feb 2023 – Dave Ellis & Boo Howard

One of the finest guitarists on the folk scene, Dave’s playing blends beautifully with Boo’s superb vocals to give a truly lovely sound, but the lyrics in some cases have considerable bite. Dave Ellis & Boo Howard

Mon 20 Feb 2023 – Dick Miles

Dick is a fine exponent of traditional song, sung acapella or accompanied by concertina or banjo. His songs originate from various parts of the British Isles, including Ireland where he now lives. Dick Miles

Forthcoming attractions: Mon 6 Mar 2023 – Alan Reid | Mon 20 Mar 2023 – Steve Turner | Mon 3 Apr 2023 – Martin Ledner | Mon 15 May 2023 – Paul McGladdery | Mon 18 Sep 2023 – Here & There | Mon 2 Oct 2023 – Bruce Watson | Mon 6 Nov 2023 – Wildwood Jack | Mon 20 Nov 2023 – Johnny Campbell

To join our mail list click here

News and Blog