Traditional Music and Song at Tonbridge Folk Club (Nellies)

When We Meet

First and third Mondays of each month from 8-11 pm. Musicians, singers and audience welcome.

Where We Meet

The Flying Dutchman, 118 Tonbridge Road, Hildenborough, Tonbridge, TN11 9EN.

Evening Fee

A hat collection is held on guest nights and a contribution of £7 (£5 concessions) is suggested.

Singers Welcome

Floor spots available – arranged on the night.
Diary of Events

Mon 16 Dec 2019 – Alan Richardson

Welcome return of a local singer–songwriter who accompanies himself with guitar. Mainly self-penned songs with some of a seasonal nature.  Alan Richardson

 

 

 

 

Mon 6 Jan 2020 – Morrigan

Seasonal songs from this four piece acapella group who provide such beautiful harmonies. Good to have them back! Morrigan 

 

Mon 20 Jan 2020 – Capella

Tony & Lesley Petty, well known on the folk circuit for a wide range of songs, traditional and contemporary, with beautiful harmonies, make a welcome return to the club. 

 

Mon 3 Feb 2020 – Ben Walker

From rural Worcestershire, Ben’s songs are deeply rooted in the tradition and accompanied by his fine guitar playing which has been widely acclaimed. Ben Walker 

Mon 17 Feb 2020 – Zetor in the Kailyard

Angus based folk duo features Roddy Johnston on fiddle, pipes, vocals, guitar, cahon and loop pedal, and Kate Badcock on flute, sax, and backing vocals. Lively interpretations of traditional folk music from the British Isles. Zetor in the Kailyard

Mon 2 Mar 2020 – Karen Langridge

A local singer from Kent with a beautiful voice, who sings traditional and contemporary songs, both acapella and accompanied.

 

Forthcoming attractions: Mon 16 Mar 2020 – Steve Turner | 6 Apr 2020 – Christopher Mark Jones | Mon 20 Apr 2020 – Richard Grainger | Mon 18 May 2020 – David Fisher | Mon 6 Jul 2020 – Skinner & T’Witch | Mon 3 Aug 2020 – Martin Ledner | Mon 7 Sept 2020 – Jeff Warner | Mon 21 Sep 2020 – Miriam Erasmus | Mon 5 Oct 2020 – Dick Miles | Mon 19 October – Celtic Caim Duo | Mon 2 Nov 2020 – Naomi Bedford & Paul Simmonds | Mon 16 Nov 2020 – Alden, Patterson & Dashwood

To join our mail list click here

News and Blog

Na-Mara review

To whet your appetite for our guests on 20th May, here's a review of Na-Mara's latest CD: "One of life's certainties, thus far, is that any music produced by Na-Mara, be it live or recorded, will be of the highest quality and guaranteed to involve subjects and themes...

Hickory Signals

Here's a taster of next Monday's guests, Hickory Signals. Check out Youtube for more of their videos and join us at the Flying Dutchman on Monday!