Diary of Events

Mon 4 Mar 2019 – Glymjack Duo

Greg McDonald, acclaimed songwriter, is joined by Gemma Gayner, virtuoso of the fiddle, to give a superb rendering of folksongs old and new. Glymjack Duo

 

 

Mon 18 Mar 2019 – Richard Grainger

Making a welcome return appearance, Richard is an accomplished songwriter and guitarist whose songs have been widely adopted by other noted singers. Based in Whitby, many of his songs relate to the North East and the sea. Richard Grainger

 

 

Mon 1 April 2019 – Will Finn & Rosie Calvert

Will Finn and Rosie Calvert are a dynamic up-and-coming duo from the heart of Newcastle. Playing traditional music with a contemporary flair, their shows are a veritable smorgasbord of folk fusion, utilising piano, steel pan, and close-knit harmony singing to tremendous effect. Will Finn and Rosie Calvert

 

 

Mon 15 Apr 2019 – Hickory Signals

Multi-instrumentalists Laura Ward and Adam Ronchetti perform traditional folk songs in an original style together with self-penned material, accompanied by guitar, flute, percussion and shruti drones. Hickory Signals

 

 

Mon 20 May 2019 – Na-Mara

Welcome return of duo Paul McNamara and Rob Garcia. Paul’s skilfully crafted songs are accompanied by his guitar and Rob’s wonderful mandolin playing. Na-Mara

 

 

Mon 3 Jun 2019 – David & Alison Fenner

A mixture of traditional and self-penned songs, beautifully sung and accompanied by duet concertina & guitar. They have recently appeared at Broadstairs, Whitby and Towersey Festivals. David & Alison Fenner

 

 

Forthcoming attractions: Mon 17 Jun 2019 – Milton Hide | Mon 1 Jul 2019 – Stone Junction | Mon 15 Jul 2019 – Lyndsey Rule | Mon 19 Aug 2019 – Kelter | Mon 2 Sep 2019 – Broomdasher | Mon 16 Sep 2019 – Wildwood Jack | Mon 7 Oct 2019 – Tom Lewis | Mon 21 Oct 2019 – Geoff Higginbottom | Mon 4 Nov 2019 – Daria Kulesh | Mon 18 Nov 2019 – Sally Ironmonger with Brian Carter | Mon 2 Dec 2019 – Chris n Alan Davis | Mon 16 Dec 2019 – Alan Richardson

To join our mail list click here

News and Blog

New CD from Pete and Paul

Residents Paul Stepto and Pete Metcalfe have released a new CD. ‘The Devil Inside Us’ includes eight original songs and four covers. The styles and subjects are varied, ranging from 19th century American history, mobile phones and guns, to chocolate, Caravaggio and...

Monday at the club

Some performers have the knack of drawing you in to their music, arousing your interest and connecting you with whatever they’re singing and playing. Nick Dow, our guest on Monday, 4th December has this ability in spades - probably acquired over decades of treading...

When We Meet

First and third Mondays of each month from 8-11 pm. Musicians, singers and audience welcome.

Where We Meet

The Flying Dutchman, 118 Tonbridge Road, Hildenborough, Tonbridge, TN11 9EN.

Evening Fee

A hat collection is held on guest nights and a contribution of £7 (£5 concessions) is suggested.

Singers Welcome

Floor spots available – arranged on the night.

Traditional Music and Song at Tonbridge Folk Club (Nellies)