Traditional Music and Song at Tonbridge Folk Club (Nellies)

When We Meet

First and third Mondays of each month from 8-11 pm. Musicians, singers and audience welcome.

Where We Meet

The Flying Dutchman, 118 Tonbridge Road, Hildenborough, Tonbridge, TN11 9EN.

Evening Fee

A hat collection is held on guest nights and a contribution of £7 (£5 concessions) is suggested.

Singers Welcome

Floor spots available – arranged on the night.

Diary of Events

Mon 18 Jun 2018 – Chris Cleverley

An extremely talented singer-songwriter with many diverse topics in his songs, accompanied by accomplished finger style guitar playing. Chris Cleverley 

Mon 2 Jul 2018 – Consort of One

Lizzie Gutteridge combines medieval and renaissance music and song, on traditional instruments, with 21stC looping technology. Described as “Looping Through Time” this gives an interesting new slant to traditional music. Consort of One 

Mon 16 Jul – Triage

Welcome return of this popular local band who made a good impact last time. Expect lively renderings of tunes and songs with various instruments. Triage

 

Mon 6 Aug – Border Crossing

An Englishman an Irishman and a Scot combine to give a mix of traditional songs and tunes from all three countries. First time at the club. Border Crossing 

Mon 20 Aug 2018 – Pete Metcalf & Paul Stepto

Two of our residents with an eclectic mix of songs, mostly accompanied by various stringed instruments, and many self-penned. Now is your chance to see then do a full set!

Mon 3 Sep 2018 – Rosewood

Welcome return of this popular band from East Anglia. Lively renderings of traditional and contemporary folk music accompanied by a variety of instruments. Rosewood 

Mon 17 Sep 2018 – Andrew McKay & Carole Etherton

Making their second visit to the club, they bring fine performances of both traditional and self-penned songs, accompanied by Andrew’s concertina and Carole’s woodwind instruments. Andrew McKay & Carole Etherton

 

 

 

 

 

Forthcoming attractions: Mon 1 Oct 2018 – John Molineux | Mon 19 Nov 2018 – John Ward Trio | Mon 3 Dec 2018 – Bob Kenward | Mon 17 Dec 2018 – Nonesuch Mummers

To join our mail list click here

News and Blog