Traditional Music and Song at Tonbridge Folk Club (Nellies)

When We Meet

First and third Mondays of each month from 8-11 pm. Musicians, singers and audience welcome.

Where We Meet

The Flying Dutchman, 118 Tonbridge Road, Hildenborough, Tonbridge, TN11 9EN.

Evening Fee

A hat collection is held on guest nights and a contribution of £7 (£5 concessions) is suggested.

Singers Welcome

Floor spots available – arranged on the night.
Diary of Events

Mon 7 Aug 2017 – Allan Richardson

Another local performer, Allan is noted for his self penned songs, many of them topical and witty, and mostly accompanied by guitar. The subjects of his songs are wide ranging, and highly entertaining. Allan Richardson

 

 

 

 

Mon 21 Aug 2017 – Tonic

A classic old fashioned country dance band, noted for their highly dance-able tune playing, but they are also singers of some repute. Expect an eclectic mix of songs and tunes, both humorous and serious, with plenty of opportunity for audience participation. The Tonic

Mon 4 Sep 2017 – Pete McClelland

A Sussex based singer and guitarist with a superb selection of songs of the Sea, Coast, Fishing, Rivers, Lovers and Banishment. An eclectic mix of contemporary, including self-penned, and traditional songs.

 

 

Mon 18 Sep 2017 – Jeff Warner

International star of the folk world, and son of two parents noted for their collecting of North American Folk Music. Jeff is a skilled performer with concertina and banjo accompaniment. Not to be missed. Jeff Warner

 

Mon 2 Oct 2017 – The Snapes

A legendary duo from Lancashire who perform with passion a well balanced mix of fine traditional and humorous songs. Barbara’s fine vocals are matched by Peter’s sensitive accompaniment. The Snapes

 

Forthcoming attractions: Mon 16 Oct 2017 – Phil Hare | Mon 6 Nov 2017 – Sally Ironmonger with Brian Carter | Mon 20 Nov 2017 – Gareth Davies-Jones | Mon 4 Dec 2017 – Nick Dow  | Mon 18 Dec 2017 – Will Duke | Mon 15 Jan 2018 – Harbottle & Jonas | Mon 5 Feb 2018 – Fiddle & Faff | Mon 5 Mar 2018 – Cosgrave & Banks | Mon 19 Mar 2018 – Alden, Patterson & Dashwood | Mon 16 Apr 2018 – Malcolm Bushby

To join our mail list click here

News and Blog

Daria Kulesh on TV!

Daria Kulesh, our guest on 17th October has been on TV in Russia. The feature starts about 22 minutes in and, although she's speaking Russian, some of the songs are performed in...