Traditional Music and Song at Tonbridge Folk Club (Nellies)

When We Meet

First and third Mondays of each month from 8-11 pm. Musicians, singers and audience welcome.

Where We Meet

The Flying Dutchman, 118 Tonbridge Road, Hildenborough, Tonbridge, TN11 9EN.

Evening Fee

A hat collection is held on guest nights and a contribution of £7 (£5 concessions) is suggested.

Singers Welcome

Floor spots available – arranged on the night.

Diary of Events

Mon 6 Aug – Border Crossing

An Englishman an Irishman and a Scot combine to give a mix of traditional songs and tunes from all three countries. First time at the club. Border Crossing 

Mon 20 Aug 2018 – Pete Metcalfe & Paul Stepto

Two of our residents with an eclectic mix of songs, mostly accompanied by various stringed instruments, and many self-penned. Now is your chance to see them do a full set! Pete and Paul’s FB

Mon 3 Sep 2018 – Rosewood

Welcome return of this popular band from East Anglia. Lively renderings of traditional and contemporary folk music accompanied by a variety of instruments. Rosewood 

Mon 17 Sep 2018 – Andrew McKay & Carole Etherton

Making their second visit to the club, they bring fine performances of both traditional and self-penned songs, accompanied by Andrew’s concertina and Carole’s woodwind instruments. Andrew McKay & Carole Etherton

 

Mon 1 Oct 2018 – John Molineux

A fine traditional singer and master of various instruments including guitar, mandolin fiddle whistle and dulcimer, John has previously played with the John Renbourn Band. He is also noted as a storyteller. John Molineux.

 

 

Mon 15 Oct 2018 – Melanie Crew & Ross Palmer

Two accomplished singer-songwriters in perfect harmony, both with fine voices and skillful accompaniment. They promise a mix of their own songs and some traditional material. Melanie Crew   Ross Palmer

 

 

Mon 5 November 2018 – Two’s Company

Two’s Company (Alice Baillie and David Jenkinson) are a Yorkshire-based acoustic folk duo. They perform a variety of traditional and original songs and tunes, from and inspired by the folk tradition of the British Isles, accompanied by flute, guitar and cello-mandolin. Two’s Company

 

Forthcoming attractions: Mon 19 Nov 2018 – John Ward Trio | Mon 3 Dec 2018 – Bob Kenward | Mon 17 Dec 2018 – Nonesuch Mummers | Mon 4 Feb 2019 – Bond of Union | Mon 18 Mar 2019 – Richard Grainger | Mon 1 Apr 2019 – Will Finn & Rosie Calvert | Mon 20 May 2019 – Na Mara | Mon 16 Sep 2019 – Wildwood Jack | Mon 21 Oct 2019 – Geoff Higginbottom

To join our mail list click here

News and Blog