Traditional Music and Song at Tonbridge Folk Club (Nellies)

When We Meet

First and third Mondays of each month from 8-11 pm. Musicians, singers and audience welcome.

Where We Meet

The Flying Dutchman, 118 Tonbridge Road, Hildenborough, Tonbridge, TN11 9EN.

Evening Fee

A hat collection is held on guest nights and a contribution of £7 (£5 concessions) is suggested.

Singers Welcome

Floor spots available – arranged on the night.
Diary of Events

Mon 20 Nov 2017 – Gareth Davies-Jones

Originally from Ulster, but now resident in the Tyne Valley, Gareth is a skilled singer-songwriter whose subjects cover many themes such as maritime, coal mining and iconic landscapes, much relating to his current home. Gareth Davies-Jones 

Mon 4 Dec 2017 – Nick Dow

Nick has been singing traditional folk songs for over forty years. He married into a traveller family, and this reflects in some of his songs. He is also noted for his songs from the West Country, many of which were collected by him.

 

Mon 18 Dec 2017 – Will Duke

A skilled player of the anglo concertina inherited from Scan Tester, and a noted traditional singer. Will can be relied upon to provide us with a mixture of serious and amusing songs, some of which will have a Christmas flavour.

 

 

 

Mon 15 Jan 2018 – Harbottle & Jonas

Acclaimed by Seth Lakeman, Jon Boden, Rod Clements, and Declan Sinnott, they are a young duo from Devon who are making a name for themselves with exciting renditions of traditional songs, accompanied with guitar and concertina. Harbottle & Jonas

Mon 5 Feb 2018 – Fiddle & Faff

Beautiful harmony singing by this Kent based duo, accompanied by fiddle, accordion, nyckelharpa, double bass and mando bass. Fiddle & Faff

 

Mon 28 Feb 2018 – Alan Austen & Linda Smith

Noted for traditional and Alan’s self-penned songs, this local duo perform with various instruments and harmonies.

 

Mon 5 Mar 2018 – Cosgrave & Banks

Mike Cosgrave (accordion, guitar, whistle) and Steve Banks (fiddle, vocals, Hardanger fiddle, guitar) have joined forces to form an exciting folk duo. They are both very skilled and experienced musicians, and together they play exciting, imaginative arrangements of captivating folk music from Britain, Europe, and beyond, both traditional and contemporary. Cosgrave & Banks

 

 

 

Forthcoming attractions: Mon 19 Mar 2018 – Alden, Patterson & Dashwood | Mon 16 Apr 2018 – Malcolm Bushby | Mon 21 May 2018 – Tom Lewis | Mon 4 Jun 2018 – Sam Walter | Monday 18 Jun 2018 – Chris Cleverley | Mon 2 Jul 2018 – Consort of 1 | Mon 3 Sep 2018 – Rosewood | Mon 17 Sep 2018 – Andrew McKay & Carole Etherton | Mon 19 Nov 2018 – John Ward Trio

To join our mail list click here

News and Blog